Undefined

I love this girl featured right here: who said brides should wear dresses or high heals for that matter? That femininity is defined by the length of one’s hair? She is my sister’s friend and I have to applaud her for not playing to other peoples’ definition.

I never really liked definition in English class, they sounded so final, so black or white, anytime I was asked to define a word, I was tempted to describe it instead. The thing with definition is there is no margins for errors, you couldn’t just drop  a word or add to it.  I felt that it boxed me in and was too restrictive, still definitions are very necessary for setting boundaries and for order in the language.

I heard a story of a young bride who used to cook the same meal in 2 pans at the same time instead of one, so her husband asked her one day why, her response was ‘I don’t know, my mum used to do that and that’s all I knew growing up, I am just following the defined way of my mum. Still puzzled the husband went to his mother in law and asked why she cooked in 2 small pots instead of one, mother in law said, I don’t even know why, I saw my mother do it all the time, so I just followed suit. Finally🙄 they went to the grandmother to listen to the mystery behind cooking the same meal in 2 separate pots rather than one big pan. Well well, the grandmother couldn’t stop laughing, she said oh dear daughter and granddaughter, the only reason why I did that was because, I couldn’t afford a bigger pan and I had too many mouths to feed, that was the only way I could feed my big family. Of course they all laughed and thought how very silly, all this time they could have cooked in one big pan only if only they had asked, if only they I had opened their minds to some possibilities.  If they hadnt set so tight a defined way to cook.😀

You see I know that story is a bit out there but when we set such strict defined roles and labels, we box ourselves in and stifle our imagination. I have met a lot of people who have been through some of the most horrific experiences, I have met some also who have made quite a few mistakes. There are many things I have done or experienced, some I am proud of , others not so much, but none of these things on their own really define me. I am sure you can identify with that, you may be a parent, an employer or an employee, a daughter, friend, all these things you may be but none of those aspects Can justly define you.

We restrict our selves and our potential by trying to fix so snugly in someone’s definition of us, if you are a fan of the bible which is like the bestseller of all times,  you might know that we are made in Gods image that means we have the ability to create.  My understanding of that is Iam undefined, I can adapt , expand , I can stretch and I can definitely imagine. Don’t try so hard to fit into a defined path that you don’t even believe in, you are way more than your mistakes. You have a fresh page so start filling it with some words you like and words you choose.

I once saw a young girl exhibiting alleged side effects of some medication. Reading in between the line it became apparent she had read the label. After talking to her for a bit she admitted that she was just acting out the possible side effects of the medication. In her naivety she had ignored the little wording ‘possible’. We all laughed but later on I thought how sad that we talk, walk and behave in ways that fit the definition that the statistics have assigned to us.

We at inside out have decided we are more than labels, numbers or statistic, in fact we are changing our mentality, we choose to think bigger and better.
Whatever aspects of you people have experienced, you are more, you have the ability to be more, after all you are not defined by what people say about you. You are only what your maker says you are: well, we say you are flexible, teachable, stretchable and unstoppable.

For your consideration

simplygyaps

 

Author: simplygyaps

Iam a child of God, a wife of 1 man, mum to 3 kids, a go to person, love building relationships. I believe in inside out kind of leaving, what goes on on the inside will eventually show up on the outside.

25 thoughts on “Undefined”

  1. Good stuff right there! I am everything the Bible says that I am. Indeed we must refuse to be placed in a box. And if someone has placed us there we must get out in Jesus’ name!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. If this isn’t God speaking to me through you, then I don’t know what it is! The title if my blog and brand is justlikeyouiaew (Just Like You… I Am Every Woman) each day I am a different Woman. Since birth I’ve had a fiery vivid imagination. In the 4th grade we had an assignment to use one word to describe ourselves and the only word I resonated with was UNIQUE. We are who we are and we decide who that is!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great points! I liked the pot story! We have to ask questions in order to learn and expand our horizons. That story truly illustrated behaviors and/or ideals from generations that we just accept when we can be so much more. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brilliant post! It’s so important to not put ourselves in a box. I have a cousin with autism and my wife and I were trying to figure out whether to say “he is autistic” or “he has autism”. I said who cares, let’s just call him Ben (that’s his name). Anyways, I thought that little story would fit in hehe. Thanks for writing this post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

